Herts Tennis Annual Awards Dinner 2023

Carousel, News, Uncategorised

On Friday we were delighted to welcome our LTA County Award Winners and their guests to join us in celebrating their wonderful achievements through 2022. We also presented our County Player, Herts League and Harris Cup winner awards at a lovely dinner hosted at Harpenden Golf Club.

Amongst the very deserving winners we presented Jeff Wayne with a Herts Lta President’s Award for his outstanding service as Men’s County Team Captain, a position he has held and achieved so much with over an amazing 35 years, bringing the team from the relative depths of Div. 4 to the Championship heights of Div. 1 and winning us the national title no less than 7 times out of the last 17 years (summer) and 8 times (winter). It is unlikely we will ever see a captain like him again and we feel incredibly privileged to have had him in our team and for so long. Our heartfelt thanks Jeff for all you have done for Herts Tennis.

We are also delighted that two of our County Stage LTA Award winners have gone on to win the Regional title and will now be considered for the National Awards. These are HACRO (Hertfordshire Association for the Care and Rehabilitation of Offenders) in the Connecting Communities category and Simon Spalter in the Cathie Sabin Volunteer of the Year category. A huge well done and the very best of luck going forward, we have everything crossed for you!

If you would like to find out more about the LTA awards, please click  here

The full list of Award winners are:

Club of the Year – Welwyn Tennis Club

Development Coach of the Year – David Lawlor

Performance Coach of the Year – Chloe Hughes

Connecting Communities Award – HACRO

Tennis for All Award – Devon Moore (Gosling)

Competition of the Year – The Datchworth League

Official of the Year – Alan Cope

Volunteer of the Year – Simon Spalter

Lifetime Achievement Award – Mary Ford

Herts Tennis President’s Award – Jeff Wayne

Mark Seymour Award – Ben Feltham

The Laing Award – Erin

County Colours – Charlie Broom

Harris Cup Winners 2022 Ladies – Townsend

Harris Cup Winners 2022 Men – Berkhamsted

Herts League Winners 2022 Ladies – St Albans

Herts League Winners 2022 Men – Harpenden

A huge congratulations to everyone, you are all a part of what makes tennis in Hertfordshire so great and we are very proud of you.